The Pumas Seven have qualified for the Paris 2024 Olympics

Share This Post

- Advertisement -

Argentina’s rugby team, Los Pumas Seven qualified for the Paris 2024 Olympic Gamesadvanced to the quarter-finals of the Sevens in Toulouse, France, beating Great Britain 50-0 today, to be top of Group B.

- Advertisement -

Argentina won its zone with nine pointsfollowed by Great Britain with seven, Spain with five and Germany with three, and will now play Group C runners-up South Africa in the quarter-finals at 14:05 in our country.

The Pumas Seven have qualified for Paris 2024 before playing after being knocked out of the quarter-finals by Samoa, who finished third in Group D, behind Australia and Ireland.

- Advertisement -

Samoa is sixth in the overall standings and could have a remote chance of overtaking the Argentines who are already at the Games alongside the locals and New Zealand.

Team victory Santiago Gomez Cora against the English it was achieved with tries from Marcos Moneta (3), Germán Schulz (2), Luciano González and Mateo Graziano and a try and four conversions from Santiago Vera Feld and a conversion from Joaquín Pellandini.

The Pumas Seven had beaten Germany 29-7 and then Spain 21-19 after a remarkable fight back after being down 0-19.

The other quarterfinal matches will be New Zealand-Ireland, Australia-Canada and France-Great Britain.

In the overall standings of the circuit, New Zealand leads with 164 points, Argentina is in second place with 140 points and behind them are Fiji with 130, France with 122, Australia with 112 and Samoa with 111.

The Pumas 7 have played in 16 finals in the history of the Sevens, which has been going on since 1999: they have lost 12 and won four gold medals in the editions of Hamilton 2023, Vancouver 2022, San Diego 2009 and Los Angeles 2004.

Source: Clarin

- Advertisement -

Related Posts