Argentina, the national team with the most Under-20 World Cups: from Maradona to Messi, the balance of the six titles won

Share This Post

- Advertisement -

Four years ago, Ukraine beat South Korea in the final Sub 20 world of Poland 2019 and obtained his first title in the category. So she added his name to a list where the greatest privilege continues to be Argentinawho made six Olympic laps and is the best winner in the junior championships since 1977.

- Advertisement -

Argentina, champion in 1979, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005 and 2007, lead Brazil to just one title, while Portugal completes the podium with two tournaments. Those who won once were the Soviet Union, Germany, Yugoslavia, Spain, Ghana, France, Serbia, England and the Ukraine.

This year, Argentina led by Javier Mascherano He has the option of adding his seventh star in a tournament that will be played in the country. Argentina was already the host of the competition in 2001, the date in which it ended up conquering the maximum trophy after a great performance by the team led by José Pekerman and with figures such as Javier Saviola and Andrés D’Alessandro.

- Advertisement -

Argentina, the national team with the most World Cups

One by one, the six Argentine youth titles, a journey that began in 1979 at the hands of Diego Maradona and ended in 2007, in Canada.

Sub 20 World Cup 1979: the magic of Maradona

With César Luis Menotti at the helm, the national team swept Japan by storm: they won all six of their games, scored 20 goals and conceded only 2. The star of the championship was Maradona, winner of the Ballon d’Or, while Ramón Díaz won the Ballon d’Or, for his eight conquests. Argentina beat Algeria 5-0 in the quarterfinals, beat Uruguay 2-0 in the semifinals and beat the Soviet Union 3-1 in the final.

1995 Sub 20 World Cup: Pekerman’s first

In Qatar, Argentina was established after 16 years. With José Pekerman on the bench, the Selection went from minor to major. He qualified after a heartbreaking 4-2 win against Honduras and was unstoppable afterward.

They eliminated Cameroon and Spain to reach the final against Brazil. There he took his revenge on the South American, where he had lost in the decisive match against Brazil, and won 2-0 with goals from Leonardo Biagini and Francisco Guerrero, in a team where Joaquín Irigoytía, Juan Pablo Sorin and Sebastián Pena, among others , he also stood out. .

Sub 20 World Championship 1997: by the hand of Riquelme

In Malaysia the number of participants increased, from 16 to 24, but the ending repeated itself: Argentina lifted the trophy again. Pekerman maintained his style of play and the national team had a very high performance peak, especially in the quarterfinals in the victory over Brazil.

After beating Ireland, Argentina beat Uruguay 2-1 to celebrate their third title. It was a team full of stars: Diego Placente, Walter Samuel, Esteban Cambiasso, Juan Román Riquelme, Pablo Aimar, Lionel Scaloni and Bernardo Romeo, among others.

Sub 20 World Cup 2001: at home and with an enlightened Saviola

The Argentine national team overwhelmed everyone in the World Cup that took place in our country. In the first round, they beat Finland (2-0), Egypt (7-1) and Jamaica (5-0). They then eliminated China (2-1), France (3-1), Paraguay (5-0) and Ghana (3-0).

A devastating team that featured Javier Saviola. The little rabbit he scored 11 goals and set a record that has yet to be broken. He was accompanied by Andrés D’Alessandro, Leonardo Ponzio, Fabricio Coloccini, Maxi Rodríguez and Leandro Romagnoli, among others. Another car driven by Pekerman.

Sub 20 World Cup 2005: Messi has left his mark

History indicates that Messi started as a substitute in his debut in a loss to the United States. In the second match, Francisco Ferraro put the boy who was already shining in the lower ranks of Barcelona and the team took off.

Argentina left Colombia, Spain and Brazil away to reach the final against Nigeria. THE Flea He converted twice for 2-1 and Argentina celebrated for the fifth time. And, of course, he won the tournament’s Ballon d’Or.

Sub 20 World Championships 2007: the last joy

With Hugo Tocalli as host and Sergio Agüero as figurehead, Argentina celebrated after defeating the Czech Republic in the final. He Kun, author of six goals, was awarded the Golden Ball and first two-time champion of the category. The team consisted of Sergio Romero, Gabriel Mercado, Ever Banega, Maxi Moralez, Angel Di María and Mauro Zárate, among others.

Source: Clarin

- Advertisement -

Related Posts

Tom Hanks warns of false advertising: “A fake me created with AI appears”

“Be careful” in insurance advertising video US CBS anchor King...

Japan prepares for second discharge of Fukushima contaminated water… Starting as early as the 5th

View largerFukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant. Donga Ilbo...

“India demands repatriation of 41 diplomats from Canada by the 10th”

FT report… Warning of loss of immunity if...

“My video created by AI is going around”… Tom Hanks’ Warning

Warning of fake AI video posted by American actor...

Trump appears at trial on suspicion of ‘inflating assets’… “Witch hunt continues”

Former President Donald Trump, the leading U.S. Republican presidential...