Video: Musetti serves from below on match point and Cerúndolo raises with just enough

Share This Post

- Advertisement -

Video: Musetti serves from below on match point and Cerúndolo raises with just enough

- Advertisement -

Lorenzo Musetti, in the semi-final in Hamburg against Cerúndolo. REUTERS / Cathrin Mueller

- Advertisement -

the Italian thing Lorenzo Musetti in the semifinals of ATP Hamburg It is hard to explain. The Italian had authoritatively won the first set 6-3 against the native of Buenos Aires Francesco Cerundolo and dominated the game, even in the second chapter.

He came out more determined, imposed his game with a powerful forehand and a precise one-handed backhand. He managed to pull away quickly and was 5-4 on the serve. He has decided to serve for a match and to qualify for the final of an ATP tournament for the first time in his career.

In a hard-fought match in which Cerúndolo didn’t give anything away, Musetti earned a match point. But he made a reckless and unusual decision: decided to retire.

The Italian’s strong bet went wrong. Cerúndolo is attentive and arrives with just enough to pass the ball to the other side of the net. And Musetti could not return it and left it on the net. Incredible. Then, moreover, the Argentine broke the service.

Bottom serve has become fashionable in the tennis elite: resource or canchereada?

Kyrgios also served from below.  (EFE)

Kyrgios also served from below. (EFE)

Nick Kyrgios, Alexander Bublik and even former world number one Andy Murray … There were several players who joined the “trend” of bottom serve as they walked through Wimbledon. That asset – a kind of drop shot taken from the baseline, instead of the usual serve – reappeared in the racquet world a few years ago. In the beginning it was very rarely seen in matches, but today it is more and more common. And while it is curious and even funny to some, it continues to generate controversy and there are many detractors who point out that while it is legal because the regulations do not prohibit it, that is not why it is good to use it.

“There is no rule that says you can’t play from the bottom, so it’s not bad. After that, each player makes the decision they think is most convenient to win the point. I can’t say anything about it.”commented in chat with Clarín Carlos Berlocq, former 37th in the standings and current coach of Tomas Etcheverry.

“Likewise I disagree with the use. As a player I would never have taken from the bottom and I would not want my player to do it either. see my player perform that shot “, continued the chascomunense, in an opinion shared by many in the tennis world.

The complete note.

Source: Clarin

- Advertisement -

Related Posts