The women’s volleyball World Cup is about to start: when the Panthers make their debut and what unprecedented goal are they looking for in the Netherlands-Poland

Share This Post

- Advertisement -

The women's volleyball World Cup is about to start: when the Panthers make their debut and what unprecedented goal are they looking for in the Netherlands-Poland

- Advertisement -

The Panthers, training at CENARD before leaving for Europe. Twitter photo @Voley_FeVA

- Advertisement -

An unprecedented result they will seek The panthers in the Women’s Volleyball World Championship of the Netherlands and Poland, which will start this Friday, with the clash between the Polish team and Croatia. The biancoazzurra team, which will only debut on Sunday against China, aims to enter the second round of the tournament, a phase he has never reached before. The challenge is very big, especially because in the first stage they will have a very tough group, but the Argentines arrive with a lot of confidence.

“At group level we have been working since May, we have done several tournaments to test the team and consolidate. We had the friendly in Argentina which lasted seven games, the pre-Pan-American where we did very well and several weeks of training. very intense. We have high expectations, “he told him Lucia Verdier a Clarione before the team traveled to Europe.

“Our big goal is to go to the second round. We are aiming and working for this”, assured Libero and captain Tatiana Rizzowho will play a tournament of this level for the third time and is one of three players in the squad with World Cup experience.

The other two experimented are the receiving end Yas Nizetich and the center Emilce Sosa. Meanwhile, the owners Victory Mayer Y sabrina germaniera; opposites Erika Market Y Bianca Cugno; Plants Bianca Farriol, Candelaria Herrera Y brenda graf; receive suggestions Daniela Bulaych, Salinas candle Y Lucia Verdier; and release Agostino Pelozo They will play their first World Cup.

Argentina22nd in the standings, he will be part of group D, which will be played in Arnhem, the Netherlands, together with China (4th), his rival this Sunday, Brazil (2nd), Czech Republic (10 °), Colombia (16th) and Japan (7th). And there is a fact that mirrors the complexity of the direct from landscape Hernan Ferraro: three of these five rivals have been medalists in the last three editions of the World Cup.

The Brazilian team won silver in 2010 and bronze in 2014; the Chinese are second in 2014 and third in 2018; and the Japanese climbed to the bottom step of the podium in 2010.

In view of Colombia, the Argentines recently celebrated a special triumph. They won 3-1 in the final of the Pre-Pan American from Santiago de Chile and they got the ticket for the Pan American Games which will also take place next year in the trans-Andean capital.

The Panthers – who qualified for the World Cup by ranking, after finishing third in the South American Championship last year, which distributed two tickets (they went to Brazil, champion, and Colombia, finalist) – will break a record only by jumping on the pitch for the first match. It is that, for the first time in history, they will play an ecumenical tournament for the third consecutive edition.

The best result obtained by a national team of this level was in Brazil 1960, at its first participation, when it obtained one victory (3-1 against Uruguay) and two defeats (3-0 against Japan and against Poland), finishing third in Group A, he did not pass to the second phase and finished eighth in the general classification.

Since then he has not managed to overcome the 15th position, which he occupied in China 1990. In the last two editions, Italy 2014 and Japan 2018, he finished 17th and 19th respectively.

Ferraro’s team closed their preparation for this tournament in a friendly which played last week in several cities of the island France. In the group stage they won 3-1 Canada and lost 3-0 with Japan in Belfort; fell 3-0 to Colombia in Chaumont; he defeated the Gallic team 3-1 at Selstat and was overtaken by Belgium 3-1 in Anmeville. And in that same venue, he beat the Canadian team 3-2 in the duel for fifth place.

How will the World Cup be played?

The competition will take place in three phases. In the first, the 24 participating countries will form four groups of six, which will play all against all. The top four will advance to the next stage, carrying the points earned in that first round robin.

In that second case, there will be 16 teams spread across two zones of eight. Those from group A of the initial phase will join those of D; and those of B with those of C. Each team will play only four games, as they will no longer clash with rivals already faced in the previous phase. The top four of each group will continue their way in the fight for the title.

The third phase will consist of a single elimination table, with quarter-finals, semi-finals and final. The decisive match and the duel for third place will be played on October 15th in ApeldoornHolland.

The big favorite to lift the trophy is United States of Americanumber one in the world and gold in the Tokyo Olympics, in which Argentina was 11th out of 12 participants. Other candidates are Brazilsecond in the rankings and silver in the Japanese capital last year; Serbian, reigning champion and Olympic bronze medalist; And Italythird in the standings and finalist of the previous world championship.

The complete match of group D

Saturday 24/09, 15:30 (Argentine time) by Star +. Brazil-Czech Republic.

Sunday 25/09, 09.00 on ESPN and Star +. China-Argentina.

Sunday 25/09, 09.15 on Star +. Japan-Colombia.

Monday 26/09, 09:15 on Star +. Japan-Czech Republic.

Monday 26/09, 1:30 pm on ESPN and Star +. Brazil-Argentina.

Tuesday 27/09, 09.00 from Star +, China-Colombia.

Wednesday 28/09, 09:15 on Star +. China Japan.

Wednesday 28/09, 10.00 on Star +. Brazil-Colombia.

Wednesday 28/09, 1:00 pm on ESPN and Star +. Argentina-Czech Republic.

Friday 30/09, 09:00 on Star +. China-Czech Republic.

Friday 30/09, 09:15 on Star +. Brazil-Japan-

Friday 30/09, 1pm on ESPN and Star +. Colombia-Argentina.

Saturday 01/10, 09.00 on Star +. Brazil-China.

Saturday 10/01, 13:00 on Star +. Colombia-Czech Republic.

Sunday 02/10, 9.15 am on ESPN and Star +. Japan-Argentina.

* All matches will be played in Arnhem, the Netherlands.

The other World Cup groups

Group A, in Arnhem: Netherlands, Italy, Belgium, Puerto Rico, Cameroon and Kenya.

Group B, in Arnhem and Gdansk (Poland): Poland, Turkey, Dominican Republic, South Korea, Thailand and Croatia.

Group C, in Arnhem and Lodz (Poland): United States, Serbia, Germany, Bulgaria, Canada and Kazakhstan.

The second and third phase

The second phase will be played from 4 to 9 October.

Group E, in Rotterdam (Netherlands): the top four of Group A and Group D.

Group F, in Lodz (Poland): The first four of B and C.

The quarter-finals will be played in Apeldoorn (Netherlands) and Gliwice (Poland) on 11 October. The semifinal in those same two venues, 12 and 13. And the final and the match for the bronze, in Apeldoorn, Saturday 15.

Source: Clarin

- Advertisement -

Related Posts