The Pumas 7 defeated France and were crowned champions of the Vancouver Seven Series

Share This Post

- Advertisement -

Almost a year ago, Vancouver was a party for the Los Pumas 7’s. In that city on Canada’s west coast, Argentina’s rugby sevens team had the pleasure of winning a stage on the world circuit again after 13 years. A 29-10 defeat of Fiji in the final capped off a tournament with an unbeaten record and third title on this circuit. Last night Los Pumas returned to the final in the same place and history repeated itself: 33-21 victory against France in the decisive match.

- Advertisement -

Argentina then adds five crowns in the world circuit: Los Angeles 2004, San Diego 2009, Vancouver 2022, Hamilton 2023 and Vancouver 2023.

The national team is experiencing its best moment: champion at the Pan American Games in Lima 2019 and bronze medalist at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, in addition to performances on the world circuit.

- Advertisement -

The final started ideally for Los Pumas, because in the minute Marcos Moneta intercepted a French pass and went alone towards the goal. Joaquín Pellandini’s conversion left the game 7-0. But three minutes later France handled the ball very well, patiently, Theo Forner backed up the try and Jean Pascal Barraque leveled it 7-7 with his conversion.

The party did not give up. Rodrigo Isgro closes a nice run with a goal converted by Pellandini for 14-7. But shortly after the break, Varian Pasquet rested down the left and Barraque converted from a tough spot to make it 14-14.

France took the lead early in the second half with a try from Stephen Parez, converted by Barraque. Argentina responded immediately with a break from Matías Osadczuk in support behind the posts. And there was another conversion by Luciano González to make it 21-21.

Then came a play: the Pumas recovered the oval, Tobías Wade kicked a football and Moneta ran like Usain Bolt to arrive before an opponent and give the pass to Wade, who supported and then scored the conversion for 28-21. And on the last play came the decisive try from Agustín Fraga after another kick from Wade. For Los Pumas to become champions.

Source: Clarin

- Advertisement -

Related Posts